top of page
  • Linda

Cinnamon Bun Hotteok


'cinnamon bunnies'

The cinnamon bunnies are excited!

Today we are going to try out the perfect combo of Sweden and Korea... *🥁🥁 *

Cinnamon Bun Hotteok!! 🥞

Today - the 4th of October - is the Cinnamon Bun day (Kanelbullens dag) in Sweden and though I'm not there nothing stops me from getting myself a gooey treat all the way over here in the outskirts of Korea!

So happy 'Cinnamon Bun - day'! 😄

I have kind of started a bit of a tradition for myself to make a cinnamon bun-version of something or a twist on the bun every year.

Last year I made a cinnamon bun mudcake which turned out quite nice and very sweet.

My thought before trying the recipe:

"The common hotteok is already friendly with cinnamon so this shouldn't be too awkward.. I hope."

My thoughts while trying:

"😱😱😱😍😍 I'm melting! *holding back my tears of joy* 😭 Why have I never tried this before? This is genius! 😃"

So Cinnamon Bun Hotteok! What is it?

It's basically just a typical Korean hotteok but made with the ingredients for buns.

So I switched out the water for milk, the vegetable oil for butter and added cardamom to the dough!

And then for the filling (which in a normal hotteok is brown sugar, cinnamon and chopped walnuts) I switched out the walnuts for almond paste or chopped almonds.

I also tried to make a "vanilla bun hotteok"! <--- even better in my opinion!

Then the filling is just brown sugar, vanilla powder and perhaps some almond paste which is optional. 

I n g r e d i e n t s ca 8 hotteoks

-DOUGH- 2 dl milk (about 1 cup) 2 tbs white granulated suga 2 tsp dry yeast a good pinch of salt 1 tbs softened butter (room temp.) 1/2 - 2/3 tsp cardamom 4,5 dl flour (2 cups)

cinnamon bun hotteok - dough ingredients

-FILLING-

1 dl brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tbs chopped almonds or/and almond paste

-VANILLA FILLING- (my favourite!)

1 dl brown sugar

pinch of vanilla powder or vanilla sugar

almond paste (optional but takes it to a whole different level)

cinnamon bun hotteok - filling ingredients

N.B If you make the filling with almond paste or vanilla sugar you can reduce the amount of brown sugar a bit since they are already sugary products.

D i r e c t i o n s

-DOUGH-

  1. Put lukewarm milk in a bowl, add yeast and stir carefully.

  2. Add white sugar, salt, softened butter and cardamom to the bowl and mix well.

  3. Now add the flour and mix it all well together.

  4. Cover the bowl and let the dough rise for 1 hour.

  5. Press the dough down to get the air bubbles out and let sit and rise for another 15 min.

cinnamon bun hotteok - creepy cute dough

-FILLING-

  1. Mix all the ingredients for the filling together in a medium small bowl.

cinnmon bun hotteok  - filling - something is hiding

-HOTTEOK-

  1. Oil up your hands. (this is for the sticky dough to not stick to your hands and fall apart and make a mess.)

  2. Put fry pan on medium low heat and put oil in it.

  3. Take a ball of dough and put in your palm and flatten it out.

  4. Take a spoon of the filling and put in the middle.

  5. Collect the edges to the middle to seal it.

  6. Turn the ball upside down and put in the fry pan.

  7. Let it sizzle for a minute then flip over (it should be golden brown)

  8. ..and press down with a spatula to make it flat.

  9. Let it fry for about 1 min and then flip it over again and lower the heat to minimum and put a lid on the pan and wait about 1 more minute.

  10. Enjoy! Quickly! It must be eaten fresh and warm and even better with a glass of milk!😉

Down here are some pictures for easier understanding...

(the number on the right is equivalent to the direction steps above.)

making hotteok directions - step 4

making hotteok directions - step 5

making hotteok directions - step 6

making hotteok directions - step 7

making hotteok directions - step 8

making hotteok directions - step 9

I know it looks just like any other hotteok but believe me - it's the perfect hybrid of cinnamon bun and hotteok. 😍

If you try this recipe let me know! 😉 Annyeong~!!

cinnamon bun hotteok gooey inside

enjoying my own version of hotteok

bottom of page