top of page
  • Linda

That trip to Chujado


Hej hej!

Today I again want to share a memory. In the early spring this year we stayed two days in Chujado (추자도) and it was so nice! Chujado is actually not one but 42 (!) islands with only 4 of them being inhabitated (by humans 🐨). It's located in the middle of the blue sea between Jeju and south mainland Korea and is about a one or two hour ride by boat from Jeju City Harbor.

Appearently there are two boats - one speedy and one sloooow. Well I wouldn't say that the slow is super slow, it's just that the speedy one can be a very bumby ride XD. The quick one is a small ferry with two hulls and one kind of need to sit down the whole trip (except for toilet visits). The slow one is really calm and one can walk around, go out and look at the view and just enjoy but the trip takes maybe 30-40 min longer. We left in the morning and took the quick one called Queen Star 2. I think most of us had taken medicine for sea sickness and I guess that helped... a bit. But I still wasn't prepared for what was coming. That day was a clear and sunny day but a bit windy and the waves was of course a bit higher. The whole one-hour-trip was a rollercoaster ride! 😱 At first I enjoyed it but that passed when TY told me he felt sick. After a while all I could hear was the sounds of people around being sick and I just wished we would arrive soon enough! I have never experienced anything like it! Anyway.. We survived! The main thing I wanted to share from Chuja is the pretty views of the cliffs and the one at the top of Nabaron (나바론) peak.

It took maybe 20-30 min. to climb but then we stayed at the top for a while.

The climbing path is referred to as '나바론 하늘길' - Nabaron Sky Path - and while climbing I understood why It was called this. In every direction there was a fantastic view over Chuja and we could see both mainland Korea and Hallasan in Jeju!

On the way down we passed through the cutest neighbourhood with pretty wall art all over it.

I want to have a house like that! 😍

About the food in Chuja - we ate fish for every meal during our two-day-stay. And It was really yummy! First I felt like 'njeee I don't really dig fish for breakfast xP' but it was Ok and always yummy! 👍 😋 Appearently the waters around these islands are very rich of fish and I guess it is Chujados specialty.

I could just keep on writing but since the last post was way too long I'll just stop here now. XD Byebyee~ 🐨

*psst! Here is also a little video I put together of Chujado!*


 

bottom of page