top of page
  • Linda

On a 'Dalle' hunt


달래 - picking korean wild chives

Yesterday we were out in the woods looking for wild chives - called 'dalle' (달래) in Korean.

April is the season for it and apparently dalle is quite healthy as well.

So me and TY and his mother drove off to see if we would find any. We basically found it right away. It was so easy to find!

I always liked picking or harvesting things directly from nature.

It's really the most natural thing ever but nowadays when we can get everything from the supermarket we lost a lot of that natural connection to the earth.

So I love reconnecting like this.


There is also more joy in eating food that I had to do some kind of work for and picked myself. And at the same time I get a good few hours in the woods, filling my lungs with fresh air and getting some exercise. So there are plenty of benefits (;

In a jeju forest picking chives

My eyes got so happy from seeing all this springy green <3

Wild chives

Cute purply flowers

While taking a short break I found these cute little purple flowers. I have no idea what kind they are though ^^


Cute little chive - listening to music

Many of the chive roots have two smaller roots growing on the sides which, at least to me, makes it look like a little creature with headphones and unruly hair ^^

Is he listening to some calming forest music? Maybe bird song?

Hubby picking chives
bottom of page