top of page
  • Linda

Baekyaki in Gold


Pampas grass jeju hill

One of my favorite places in Jeju - Baekyaki oreum (백약이오름) - in eastern part of the island seems to have become a bit more popular nowadays. Every time I went there before there were few to no people there. This last time we went it was even difficult to find a parking spot. (there isn't much parking space there though XD) Packed with cars and even a few street food vendors, it took a while for me to recognize the place.

Baekyakioreum jeju

Honestly, I was slightly disappointed at first and didn't feel like going up the hill - maybe as the introvert I am I shy away from busy places and crowds. >< [A tip for other tranquility loving peeps is to go here on a weekday when it should probably be less crowded and easier to park ^^.] But up we went. And I am happy we did. Compared to what I expected it wasn't actually that crowded haha.

The sky was so beautiful with the sunrays seeping through the clouds around the mountain.

Sun seeping through clouds view

Beautiful landscape of jeju island

The cute pampas grass waving slowly in the soft breeze and golden light.

The sort of lonely sound of a cawing crow.

Pampas grass jeju

Basically everytime I climb an oreum the weather or time of the day is different and puts the place in a whole new light and dresses it with different hues.

I love how one place can offer such different feelings and views.

Sun person silhouette

Seeing it once is not the same as having seen it all.


Climbing hill view jeju korea
bottom of page